Achieving your best through comprehensive care services

Nursing Home Transition and Diversion Waiver

The NHTD program is a New York State Medicaid Waiver program that provides support and services to assist persons with disabilities and seniors and help them back to integrated community living settings in their homes. This program enables them to increase their independence and have greater community inclusion.


To qualify for the NHTD Medicaid Waiver, you must be:

  • Capable of living in the community with needed assistance from available informal supports, non-Medicaid supports, or Medicaid State Plan services and require one or more waiver service
  • Eligible for the nursing home level of care
  • Authorized to receive Medicaid Community Based Long Term Care
  • At least 18 years of age or older
  • Considered part of an aggregate group that can be cared for at less cost in the community than a similar group in a nursing home
  • Choose to live in the community as a participant in this waiver rather than in a nursing home
  • Not participate in another HCBS waiver

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Waiver

Traumatic Brain Injury (TBI) Waiver provides support and services such as home and community-based services to assist individuals with a diagnosis of TBI or other degenerative diseases that require a nursing level of care to stay in their own homes independently. This program was designed to help these individuals choose where and with whom he or she will live, and who will provide needed services.

To qualify for the program, you must be:

  • Diagnosed with TBI or a related condition
  • Eligible for nursing facility level of care
  • Enrolled in the Medicaid program
  • Between 18 and 64 years of age, and injured after the age of 18
  • Choose to live in the community rather than a nursing facility
  • Have or find a living arrangement which meets your individual needs

The following services are available under the HCBS/TBI waiver program:

  • Service Coordination (SC)
  • Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS)
  • Community Integration Counselor (CIC)
  • Independent Living Skills Trainer (ILST)
  • Community Transitional Services (CTS)
  • Structured Day Program (SDP)

For information about these services, please feel free to contact us.